As big as a house

Standard

I won’t say much about the pregnancy, the less said the better. Not being one of those women who love being pregnant, being pregnant with twins was like…oh I don’t know…horrible. Couldn’t walk up stairs, couldn’t sleep, couldn’t make the 8 minute walk to day care without stopping half way to sit and recover.

I remember once, walking into Target and being so confused about what the hell I was doing there. I knew what people generally did in Target, but for the life of me, I didn’t know what to do. After a few minutes of tearful and aimless wandering, I decided I’d buy Archie some pyjamas. That seemed logical. When I got to the check out, I tried to enter my pin and got it wrong. Then I couldn’t deal with the idea of getting my card out of my wallet to try again. I was about to pass out. I felt so overwhelmed by the pin number confusion I simply didn’t know how to put one foot in front of the other. I said to the girl behind the counter that I needed to sit down and would come back later for the pyjamas. I took a bottle of water that I hadn’t paid for. I did eventually pay for it but I even screwed that up, giving the lady 30 cents less than it cost. She didn’t ask me for the 30 cents. Bless her.

2 responses »

  1. Knowing how capable and self confident you are, I can only imagine how distressing this must have been for you.

    Having not experienced a pregnancy at close hand, thanks for sharing and helping me understand.

Leave a Reply

