The talented Mr 4

Standard

My oldest son’s ability to soliloquise without taking a breath is astounding. He can go for upwards of 30 minutes and weave all sources of story ideas into one. In a single speech, you’ll hear threads from Thomas and Friends, his dream last night, yesterday’s show and tell at Day Care, the fishing trip in January and his wish list for Christmas 2012.  I will attempt to recreate a brief excerpt from one recent speech that actually went for several days with short breaks for sleeping and eating.

Mummy can I tell you just three things?

Sure honey.

When it’s my birfday, when I’m 5, can you get my room to be a farm and an ocean? And Mummy, can you get a cage for all the sharks so they don’t eat the spacemen and Mummy, on Sodor, can we have the Diesel Works wif all the trains and Thomas because because, I don’t have Thomas and Mummy, can I have one cow and one chicken and one snake and all the insects? And mummy can I…can I…can I…um, Mummy I need a wreck on the ocean and a ankle for the boat and can you put one of those blue things with the holes in it next to the boat and um…Mummy, can, can I…um…Mum..meee…ummm…

Did you forget mate?

Yeah, I forgot.

About traceyegan

I live in Australia with my husband and three boys. I work outside the home with other people's kids and inside the home with my own kids. It's a world of kids. All views are my own and do not reflect that of my employer.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

