My first blogger award!

Standard

Thanks to http://living4bliss.wordpress.com/ for the kind nomination for the Inspiring Blogger Award! I’m new to WordPress so I didn’t know that these lovely little acknowledgements make the rounds among users. Rules of the award require me to:

1. Thank the person who nomiated me.

2. Write 7 things about myself.

3. Nominate 7 other blogs.

The title of the blog where my nomination came from is Mental Health Food. She writes honestly and from the heart. My personal favourite is ‘Out of Darkness‘ and although I may not fully agree, there is the the brutally honest and funny ‘5 Common Parental Delusions‘. Many thanks to Ms Bliss for sharing the love.

7 things about myself

1. Going to the movies alone is one of my favourite things.

2. I hate writing things about myself, which is ironic because I love writing my blog.

3. I’m devastated about last night’s election results and have real concerns about the future of public education for the poorest, most marginalised, most traumatised and those with mental illnesses.

4. No mater how hard I try, I cannot cook steak or salmon. ALWAYS under or over cooked.

5. I am just starting to learn that even though I have a great deal to learn and I am, essentially, a rookie, I am really good at my job.

6. I am a bit jealous of journalists and secretly wish I was one.

7. The idea of entering politics has entered my head many times over the years. But I’m scared they’ll find out about that time I smoked pot in my teens AND inhaled.

My nomiations

Most of my nominations come from my followers, some parenting blogs and a few who are also bloggers about their lives with twins. I find these blogs inspiring because I can see others doing it with a smile, making it through with flying colours and it reminds me that yes, they grow up, get toilet trained and it gets funner and funner.

Twodaloo

Twin Adventures

The Parent Consultancy

Debut Dad

Adventures of a Twin Mummy

Seana Smith

Dishes Can Wait (hope it’s OK to nominate a non WordPress blog?)

11 responses »

  1. Pingback: Pemahaman Tentang Blog | duniamaya.net

  2. Well done, Trace. I always click on your latest post to have a read as soon as I see the update on FB. Keep it up! By the way, I loved the video of the boys and their horses.

  3. Well done on your award. I always find your posts compelling reading.

    As to things about you:

    I’m sure you’re great at your job, and I think we should all be glad that there are people like you doing jobs like yours. I don’t think I could do it.

    I’m not so much devastated about the election result because I saw the crash coming – though not quite as badly as this. That said, I’m sure I’m going to be even more disappointed over the coming weeks and months, and wonder how this will impact on my department and my job.

    As to your political future, I don’t think anyone these days really gives a damn whether you smoked a bit of pot years ago.

  4. Thank you so much for nominating twodaloo! Now I feel like I need to step it up and write more “inspiring” posts…although some of my stories may do nothing more than inspire people to double up on their birth control, but at least it’s something 😉

    I’ll pass on the love as soon as I can come up with a brilliant post to debut my first blogger award. Thanks again!

    Stephanie

    • For me it is really just about hearing the stories of others and knowing we’re all in this together! Even if you are on the other side of the world! How did you come across my blog by the way?

      • I think it was from a random WordPress search for posts tagged/categorized under parenting. I remember “Playing favourites” showed up in the results and I identified with your voice right away!

  5. Pingback: How to Overcome the “I Wish” Mentality and Start a Blog « Rational Idealist

Leave a Reply

